Deal with it

gertrude

 

By Gertrude Cherono

Anger is a complete normal, usually healthy, human emotion. We have once felt it whether as a fleeting annoyance or as fully fledged rage .But when it gets out of control and turn destructive, it can lead to problems either at workplace, in a relationship or even with friends. And it can make you feel as though you are at the mercy of an unpredictable and powerful emotion.

Breaking of utensils, harassing my siblings and taking any medicine which I came across had become my thing whenever I was angry. I never cared whether the person I was my sister or even someone elderly. When it got out of my control, I preferred staying alone or avoiding seeing the person who made me feel so .It reached a point where I felt like I could not breathe any more.

This worse moments came and that’s when I realized that wherever I was heading to was not really safe .I had issues with my sister .I decided to take half glass of paraffin and knock the window but whatever followed was nothing but complete injury. My hand bleeding was all that I could see .My sister could not help me all she could tell me was `that’s all you wanted. Treat yourself`. That late night had to tie my hand with a piece of cloth and sleep as I impatiently waited for morning so that I could go to the hospital.

My pocket money was all that I could use .Getting to the hospital I had to persevere the pain of pie
ces of broken glasses being removed. That pain really taught me a lesson. What about the cost of purchasing a new glass so that it can be replaced? All at my cost since it was a rental house and the tenant kept asking us to replace it .It’s there that I started learning slowly by slowly how to deal with it. Though at times I could not control, but I had something back in my mind to make me control it, my injured hand.

I started taking things easy and most of them as jokes .Whenever I felt like it’s out of my cont
rol , I just tell my mind to relax  Sometimes when I feel like it’s frustrating I console myself that it’s not the end of the world .

Those who get angry and feel like all is lost then they should get a way out of it because you may end up doing something worth being jailed and at the end you regret. If I managed to get over it you can also deal with it. It’s not a lifetime thing. Though it is normal, but when it gets out of control it becomes something totally different.

 

 

Leave a Reply

